Seafield Navigational Rally

63 Car Club played host to the Scottish Navigational Championship with the Seafield Rally. The 94 mile event started from Cairnie Hall near Huntly. What followed a dry day was a period of rain that lasted the whole event leading to slippy conditions.

The event started off taking in the roads around Ruthven, Grange, Edinight, Hill of maud, Cullen before the first card collection at Fordyce.

Dave Mackintosh/Duncan Cameron led away the 10 starters. The pair were joined by 6 other Expert crews which provided a night of close competition.  By the midway control Charles Stewart/Michael Hendry and Andrew Little/Daniel Forsyth were both on zero penalties. The route then headed towards Cornhill before heading back towards Boyndie, Hilton, Finnygaud, Marnoch, Ordiquill, Rothiemay and finishing near Ruthven. The winning crew emerged to be Charles Stewart/Michael Hendry with 1 penalty in their borrowed Ford Fiesta ST. Craig Wallace/Niall Thomson were second on 5 penalties. Third overall and first Clubman Crew was Andrew Little/Daniel Forsyth with Dave Mackintosh/Duncan Cameron one penalty adrift. In fifth Doug Shanks/Neil Shanks struggled  with the rain with the tyre choice on the VW Scirocco. Harry Merry/Graham Couser took sixth place.

Alan Patterson/Finlay Leask were the sole non-Expert entrant, finishing on a respectable   73 Penalties on their first year in the class.

With three Novice crews it was set for a fierce battle. Steven Rochford/Kate Proctor dropped only one minute but a missed code saw them finish with 16. Sam and Andrew Hunter were close behind on 25 with Kevin Massie/Aaron Smilie in third.


Thank you to all entries who travelled near and far to support the event.


Thanks to Kealla Law for soup/sandwiches.

Richard Spark & Yvonne Donald for Scrutineering and Michael & Dianne Law for course car.


It was great to have a good number of marshals and thanks to them all for coming out on the event.

Seafield Rally 2018 Results